top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

Arrival

Wow! I have arrived and have had a week filled with many emotions and events. What started out as a nightmare of my flight getting disconnect in Sydney and being told I would be spending night alone in an unfamiliar country, turned to be a huge blessing when I was able to meet two sweet locals girls who missed their flight. They took me around the city, we caught some greek food and ice cream, had some drinks on the beach then spent our night at the penthouse bar (in our hotel). After that day of unplanned shenanigans, I caught my plane to Darwin and got a shuttle to my campus. I arrived to my apartment with who I share with two girls and two guys. The rooms would be considered tiny compared to how us Americans live but I have a place to lay my head, a desk and drawers for my clothes so I can't complain. The first day in Darwin was filled with loneliness and sleep... there is a 17.5 hour time difference from Washington! I was kind of in shock you could say from traveling such a long distance and then being completely alone (my apartment mates aren't too social). I had to take a step back from my anxiety and appreciate my self courage and all the nature that is now surrounding me. Nevertheless to say how scared I was of all the "dangerous" animals I had little knowledge about. The next day, I woke up feeling optimistic and went to a lunch picnic hosted by the International House Darwin (IHD) in hopes to make some friends... and I made quiet a few! I was able to learn that being in the city, not too many animals inhabit here but I will not put it past me. The beach is just a 5 minute walk from where I'm living which gives me so much peace, yet I know better to not swim as there are salties (salt water crocodiles). Within the next couple of days, my friends and I went ice skating, fishing, took a sunrise walk, lounged by the pool, movie nights, walks to the mall, clubbing, Museum of Darwin, had a waterfront dinner, and even went on a crocodile cruise! My loneliness quickly disappeared and has been filled with friends from Denmark, the U.K., Persia, Canada, India, China and of course, Australians. The greenery environment, the tropical climate and the friendly souls that are surrounding me have made this week unforgettable. School starts tomorrow and I can't wait to see all that I will learn with my courses! I will be taking: Anatomy and Physiology, Criminal Law, Microbiology and Biochemistry so wish me luck! Below is a slideshow of just a few pictures to capture the glimpse of my week, enjoy :)

bottom of page